I have long – well as long as I’ve been fusing glass, which isn’t that long – wanted to make a mirror for our bathroom and in keeping with the watery environment, fancied a fishy theme.

I have bought a box of 30cm x 30cm Tekta squares which just fit in my Skutt kiln, and some 20cm square mirror tiles.

As you know from my previous posts I am rather keen on using copper inclusions in my glass, so cut out a variety of aquarium fish shapes for my fishy mirror, then I cut out a selection of curved glass pieces for the greenery. For the gravel, I got together all the scrap pieces from other projects, into a bag and smashed them with a hammer.

The fish were sandwiched in between the two pieces of clear glass, the edges of which I had rounded off in the grinder, and then the greenery, which I had also ground smooth, laid on top.

Wearing a mask and goggles (some of the glass had turned to powder) I spooned it along the bottom of the piece once I had laid it in the kiln.

 

Aquarium mirror in the kiln ready to fire

Aquarium mirror in the kiln ready to fire

 

Detail of fish and greenery

Detail of fish and greenery

 

Detail of broken glass gravel

Detail of broken glass gravel

 

As this was quite a large piece, it only just fitted in my kiln, I cooked it on a Slow Full fuse Glassfire program which took about 8 1/2 hours.

I then placed my mirror tile on a piece of 6mm fibre paper, a little larger all round than the glass and cut round it leaving a border of 1/2″ all round. I them cooked it again on a medium slump program and here is the finished result.

The finished mirror

The finished mirror

 

The spotty background is in fact the spotty tablecloth on my desk!

Here’s another shot on the carpet.

Finished mirror

Finished mirror

 

I loved doing this mirror and am pleased with the result. The only thing I would change if doing another would be to change the slump time to Slow as, although the mirror fits the base just fine, I think the recess could have been just a little deeper.